Murdoch University

Murdoch University is a dynamic, modern university with a national reputation for excellence in teaching, research and student satisfaction. Established in 1973, the university is committed to the pursuit of excellence and has an international reputation for quality teaching and research. Murdoch University has more than 19,000 students and 2400 staff, including more than 3000 international students from around 100 different countries. That's more than 19,000 unique stories, backgrounds and ways of thinking that help us to make a difference in the world.

Sophisticated yet uncomplicated, the lifestyle in Western Australia is a relaxed one. Located in Perth, Murdoch University gets the privilege of enjoying gorgeous West Coast sunsets, beautiful white sand beaches and scenic natural landscapes, as well as a cosmopolitan city setting, with blue skies and a sunny climate almost all year round!

Murdoch University is committed to the pursuit of excellence and has achieved an international reputation for the quality of its teaching and research. With industry partners such as Wesfarmers Energy and the Western Australian Department of Agriculture, Murdoch is one of the leading research universities in Australia. Murdoch makes a difference; many of Murdoch's research projects have resulted in benefits to society, including plant disease control, animal health, clean air, waste treatment and environmental technology. The university takes pride in the fact that it has some of the best-qualified academic staff in Australia.

We also feel that a student's time at Murdoch should involve much more than getting a degree. Thus, Murdoch places an emphasis on the whole university lifestyle. After all, university education is not just about the lectures or the tutorials; it is not only what you learn in class, it is really what you gain from the entire experience. With a student population of 19,000 (including some 3000 international students from over 100 countries around the world), excellent staff-student relations, state-of-the-art facilities, excellent student services and a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses, Murdoch might just be the experience that you are looking for!

Murdoch has a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses ranging from bachelor degrees to masters and PhDs. In fact, the combination of double majors is limited only by your imagination! Murdoch is a place where innovative thinking is welcomed and encouraged, a place where every student should be able to learn about what they want and what they are interested in. We provide a very flexible system because we believe that students should be able to learn what they are passionate about. After all, we believe that passion leads to success! The courses available at Murdoch are extensive, including:

  • Australian Indigenous studies
  • biological sciences and biotechnology
  • biomedical science
  • business/commerce
  • chiropractic and sports science
  • community development
  • conservation and wildlife biology
  • cyberforensics
  • education
  • engineering and energy
  • film and TV
  • forensic science
  • games software design and production
  • journalism
  • law and legal studies
  • media studies
  • planning
  • politics and international studies
  • public relations
  • security, terrorism and counterterrorism studies
  • sustainability
  • veterinary science.

Murdoch has an open door academic policy, which means that you can approach academic staff at any time, rather than only during a set appointment time per week. Academic staff are always very approachable and friendly, and questions are always welcome.

Also, we have a one-stop shop in 'The Student Centre', where students can pop by to ask just about anything. There is always great communication between students and staff, which is probably one of the reasons why Murdoch is the only Australian university to have achieved a five-star rating for 'Graduate Satisfaction' 15 times (The Good Universities Guide).

Cheryl Lee, Singapore

Bachelor of Mass Communication

1) Why did you pick Australia? Australia was always one of my top choices when it came to choosing a university education abroad. Having traveled there a couple of times in the past for leisure purposes, I always felt a sense of belonging to the place. It may be because of the fantastic weather all year round, the people, the lifestyle or perhaps, just a mix of all these little, yet significant things that made Australia my choice. It was not too far away from Singapore, so I could easily travel to and fro to meet my friends and family. Yet, it gave me an experience that I believe is someone that Singapore could not offer. 2) What was your best experience studying abroad? Studying in an Australian university is not just about the lectures of the tutorials. It is not just what you learn from classes, it is what you gain from, in my case, the Murdoch experience. People say that life in university is one memory that you will carry forward with you for the rest of your lives. And those people are not wrong. The friends that you meet in school, the activities that you do, even things as slight and insignificant as having lunch in bush court, or just last minute revision for a test in the library - these little moments are what defines the experience. Also, being in Australia meant going on ROAD TRIPS! I loved the juxtaposition of the cosmopolitan city lifestyle of Perth, yet, a drive out would lead you to the serene outback, the magnificent oceans, the pristine white beaches and amazing rock formations - all of which is unreal to a city girl like me, as I have been living in the concrete jungle, Singapore all my life. It is definitely an awesome experience. 3) How has studying in Australia benefitted you thus far? Being in a city that was away from home, definitely made me step out of my comfort zone, I was no longer as sheltered and pampered as I was in Singapore, and this has definitely made me grow into the person that I am now. Living by myself, I learnt to be independent and it also made me more aware of different cultures other than my own. I have always loved travelling, but living in the city, and just visiting it, I realised, is a completely different point of view. I realised the importance of being culturally sensitive, self study, also, the importance of being able to adapt to different situations and surroundings. These are the lessons of life, not all the statistical data and methods that I have learnt. Singapore will always be home, but Australia will always hold a special significance for me.

Enquiry Form

Would you like more information on the following topics?

Similar Institutions

Subscribe to our newsletter