James Cook University (JCU)

James Cook University (JCU) aims to create a brighter future for life in the Tropics and beyond, through education and research that makes a difference locally, and globally. A gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, JCU is dedicated to sustainability, conservation and innovation. To support these efforts, JCU has advanced research and experiential learning centres at both main campuses and on-site within the unique environments of Orpheus Island, the Daintree Rainforest and the Australian Outback. JCU plays a vital role in preparing the professional workforce of Northern Australia, through accredited courses in study areas including medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, veterinary sciences, psychology, nursing, sport and exercise science, engineering, law, education and a range of programs in business, science, social sciences and humanities.JCU’s practical, hands-on courses provide students with guidance from leading academics and industry professionals who are passionate about passing their expertise on to the next generation. JCU maintains strong links with industry, government, and research partners to ensure courses are industry relevant and beneficial to students’ future career opportunities. From their first year of study, students build their network, skills and knowledge base through course-related work experience, internships and professional placements. JCU’s specialist centres and institutes also serve as hubs for research and innovation across North Queensland. Undergraduate and postgraduate students alike can put their knowledge and skills to the test, and make a valuable contribution to rural, regional and remote communities at the same time. JCU provides unique study and lifestyle opportunities that are indelibly connected to its tropical location. The two main Australian campuses are JCU Townsville, Bebegu Yumba campus, Douglas, and JCU Cairns, Ngumba-bada campus, Smithfield, alongside an international campus in Singapore. JCU also has study centres in Brisbane; Mt Isa, Murtupuni campus; Mackay, Ngudya Yamba campus; Rockhampton; and Thursday Island, Ngulaigau Mudh campus.

Similar institutions

Browse more institutions
Is the information on this page correct? Request update
Sign up to our newsletter for the latest scholarships and education news
You must agree before submitting.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Join the conversation